Lyrical Melancholy

She knows how to coax a melody into the sunlight.    
Entertainment Weekly

Irish singer-songwriter Lisa Hannigan releases Prayer For The Dying today, a track from her highly anticipated new album At Swim which will be out August 19.

Collaborating with Aaron Dessner –guitarist in The National –  At Swim was recorded in rural Hudson, New York with Logan Coale (bass) and Ross Turner (drums). The release follows her second full-length album, Passenger, which NPR Music praised as“lush and beautiful,” while Rolling Stone furthered,

Her voice is light and agile, her phrasing like exquisite plumage, and her folksy songs move with deceptive power, sailing on guitars, strings and Irish drama.

Hannigan’s 2008 Mercury Prize-nominated debut Sea Sew was released to widespread acclaim –The Los Angeles Times described the music as “charmingly idiosyncratic,”while People Magazine called it, “dreamy.” In addition to her solo work, Hannigan sang with Damien Rice for seven years,touring worldwide.

She contributed significantly to Rice’s platinum-selling debut O and critically lauded follow-up 9. She also sang with the legendary Herbie Hancock on a rendition of Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are A-Changin” for his Imagine Project alongside the Chieftains and Toumani Diabaté.

In 2015, Hannigan made her film debut, providing the voice for a Selkie in the Oscar-nominated Irish animation Song of the Sea. Since then, she’s contributed a cover of  “Danny Boy” to the TV series Fargo, as well as vocals for Steve Price’s scores for Gravity – which won an Oscar –and Fury.

After touring in support of Passenger for nearly two years, Hannigan began writing songs for her new record. Although she struggled to write new material while living in London, away from home and from what she describes as her usual anchors and points of reference,” Hannigan had a breakthrough when she got an email out of the blue from Aaron Dessner. Working with Dessner, Hannigan rediscovered the collaborative spirit she’d missed in Dublin, which enabled her to see her life in London in a different light.

At Swim is in part about homesickness and isolation as well as about love.
~ Lisa Hannigan


1. Fall.
2. Prayer for the Dying
3. Snow
4. Lo
5. Undertow
6. Ora
7. We, The Drowned
8. Anahorish
9. Tender
10. Funeral Suit
11. Barton

Lisa’s new album At Swim will be released worldwide on AUGUST 19, 2016

Stream and BuyHere

LISA HANNIGAN: Website; Twitter; YouTube; Facebook; myspace
Post Photo: Rich Gilligan

Enjoy my social media

Susan Written by: